This is the "Home" page of the " Western Art Exhibit at The Bishop's Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Western Art Exhibit at The Bishop's Library  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2016 URL: http://bishops.libguides.com/content.php?pid=647699 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From the Collection

The Whiskey Guard by Joe Beeler 

 

John Coleman

The Honeymoon

 

From the Collection

Tales of Medicine Bags by Kenneth Riley

 

TBS Film Festival

In early February the library will be hosting a Hollywood Westerns Film Festival to supplement The Gabsch Western Art Exhibit.

The following films will be among those viewed:

The Alamo

Drums Along the Mohawk

Fort Apache

Legends of the Fall

The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance

Red River

Shane

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon

True Grit (John Wayne)

The Searchers

Reel Injuns:  a documentary

Travelling through the heartland of America, Cree filmmaker Neil Diamond examines how the myth of the movie "Injun" has influenced the world's understanding - and misunderstanding - of Natives. With clips from hundreds of classic and recent films, and candid interviews with celebrated Native and non-Native directors, writers, actors and activists, Reel Injun traces the evolution of cinema's depiction of Native people from the silent film era to the present day.

The West: a Ken Burns Documentary (PBS)

 

 The following books will also be available:

Cover Art
Engaged Resistance - Dean Rader
ISBN: 9780292723993
Publication Date: 2011-04-01

Cover Art
Back in the Saddle Again - Edward Buscombe (Editor); Roberta E. Pearson (Editor)
ISBN: 0851706614
Publication Date: 1998-10-01

Cover Art
Hollywood West - Richard W. Etulain (Editor); Glenda Riley (Editor)
ISBN: 1555914349
Publication Date: 2001-05-07

Cover Art
The Hollywood Posse - Diana Serra Cary
ISBN: 0806128356
Publication Date: 1996-04-15

 

Western Art Exhibit Introduction

Selections from a Private Collection of Western American Art

 Introduction to the Exhibition:          

This exhibition consists of approximately 35 paintings, watercolors, photographs, bronzes, pottery and bead work, and will be installed in the Manchester Family Library, The Bishop’s School, winter 2015.    The exhibition will also include period photographic murals, an object list, and didactic text and object labels prepared by students of The Bishop’s School.  Consisting primarily of work by contemporary western American artists, but also including notable earlier twentieth-century examples (i.e. Edward Curtis and Joseph Sharp, The Taos Group), the project evidences great passion, respect and veneration for the people and the narratives of the American west-- the first peoples and the settlers—on the part of the artists represented and the collectors who have made this exhibition possible.  Heroism, nostalgia, and a sense of twilight pervade many of these works, here on view for the first time outside the private collection. 

 

 

From the Collection

Geronimo by Charlie Dye

 

Themes

Key preliminary themes of the exhibition:

 

1)   Encounter 

John Coleman’s series of bronzes based on the Bodner/Catlin  drawings  and watercolors cat. Nos. 31-40

R.V. Greeves, Kickapoo Tribe based on Lew & Clark expedition/ Corps of Discovery  cat. Nos 17-18

 

2)   Native American Tribes/ Family and Daily Life

Joseph Sharp, (Taos Group) cat. No 13

Bill Nebeker, Running the Gauntlet cat. No. 7

Bill Nebeker, Touching Ancient Legends cat. No. 8

Patricia Dobson, Ladies in Waiting, Indian Dolls, cat no. 23

Papoose, Arapaho Tribe, cat. No. 9

Saddle blanket, Sioux, cat no. 10

Navajo family living in Southwest

Warrior Standing Nighttime Watch

Roseta, Santiago, Two Brothers, cat no.  21

 

3)   Native American Tribes/ Spiritual Practices 

Edward Curtis, The Oath, cat no. 1;  Curtis, The River, cat no. 2

David Hallbach, Squirrel Kachina, Cat. no 24

Richard Greeves, Yankton Dancers, cat. No. 18

Kenneth Riley, Tale of the Medicine Bags , cat no. 28

Kenneth Riley, The Dowry, cat. No. 29

George D. Smith, The Final Trail, cat. No. 11

Kachina Dolls TBD

Oreland Joe, Red Canyon, cat. No. 19

Frank McCarthy, Where the Ancients Had Hunted, cat. No. 6

Doug Hyde, People of the Red Tail Hawk, cat. No. 5

David Halbach, Snake Dance, cat. No. 27

 

4)   Westward Migration and Settlement

Mehl Lawson, Devil Duster, cat. No. 26

Robert Pummil, Out in Front, cat. No. 3

Sonya Terpening, Stars and Stripes, cat. No. 22

OC Seltzer, Prospectors, cat. No. 4

Tom Lovell, Even Trade, cat. No. 20

Model of stagecoach, cat. No. 42

 

5)   The Land

Russell Case, Riders, Canyon de Chelly, cat. No. 25

Charlie Dye, Water Witch, cat. No. 14

 

6)   The Protagonists

Charlie Dye, Geronimo with His Band in the Chiricahua Mountains, cat. No. 15

Harry Jackson, Pony Express II, cat. No. 30

Olaf Weighorst, Cowboy, cat. No. 16

 

 

 

 



 

 

N. Scott Momaday

Eagle Feather Fan

The eagle is my power,
And my fan is an eagle.
It is strong and beautiful
In my hand. And it is real.
My fingers hold upon it
As if the beaded handle
Were the twist of bristlecone.
The bones of my hand are fine
And hollow; the fan bears them.
My hand veers in the thin air
Of the summits. All morning
It scuds on the cold currents;
All afternoon it circles
To the singing, to the drums. 

 

 

The Delight Song of Tsoai-talee

I am a feather on the bright sky
I am the blue horse that runs in the plain
I am the fish that rolls, shining, in the water
I am the shadow that follows a child
I am the evening light, the lustre of meadows
I am an eagle playing with the wind
I am a cluster of bright beads
I am the farthest star
I am the cold of dawn
I am the roaring of the rain
I am the glitter on the crust of the snow
I am the long track of the moon in a lake
I am a flame of four colors
I am a deer standing away in the dusk
I am a field of sumac and the pomme blanche
I am an angle of geese in the winter sky
I am the hunger of a young wolf
I am the whole dream of these things

You see, I am alive, I am alive
I stand in good relation to the earth
I stand in good relation to the gods
I stand in good relation to all that is beautiful
I stand in good relation to the daughter of Tsen-tainte
You see, I am alive, I am alive

 

 

Guiding Questions for Class Visits

Guiding Questions were created to help students focus as they view the exhibit.

 

From the Collection

Forbearers by John Coleman 

TBS Resources

Subscription Databases:

Oxford Art Online

Gale U.S.History

JSTOR

ProQuest

Books from Our Collection and Ebrary:

We have reference books and many art books on the top level of the library (Silent Study).  Use the Library Catalog (Destiny) to search for them.

 

Log In to the Resources Page:  click here

      
     

    From the Collection

    Water Wtich by Charlie Dye

     

    From the Collection

    School House by Sonya Terpening

    From the Collection

    Pariskaroopa by John Coleman

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip